TTUHSC Information Technology
HomeInformation TechnologyInformation ServicesIT Solution CenterUnified Communications

Lync 2010 Help and Training

Collaborate on a whiteboard

A whiteboard is a blank page for notes, drawings, or imported images that meeting participants can work on together. When the session is over, you can save the product of your collaboration.

What do you want to do?

Open a new whiteboard


You must be a meeting presenter to open a whiteboard. If you aren’t already a presenter, the meeting organizer or any other presenter in the meeting can make you one. All meeting participants, whether presenter or attendee, can work on the whiteboard.

Note If a presenter opens another whiteboard or begins another sharing activity, this whiteboard will automatically close but be available in the Content List for use later in the meeting.

back to top

Add content


Use the tools along the bottom of the whiteboard to add content.

Note Several meeting participants can work on the whiteboard simultaneously, but each tool can be used only by one person at a time.

TEXT

Type it

Paste it

  1. Copy to the Clipboard the text that you want to use.
  2. Click the whiteboard where you want to paste the text, and then press CTRL+V.

You can use the Color button Color button to select a text color before you paste it.

LINES, ARROWS, AND SHAPES
FREEHAND DRAWING OR HIGHLIGHTING
ARROW, CHECKMARK, OR STAMP
INSERT AN IMAGE
  1. Click the Insert image button Insert image button, navigate to the image that you want, and then double-click it.
  2. Resize the imported image by dragging the triangle in its lower right corner.
back to top

Move content


You can select and then move anything on the whiteboard.

MOVE ONE OBJECT
  1. Click the Select and Type button Select and type button.
  2. Click the object you want to move.
    A selection rectangle appears around the selected object.
  3. Drag it to its new position.

Note For typed text, point to the bar at the top of the text box before you begin dragging it.

MOVE SEVERAL OBJECTS AT THE SAME TIME
  1. Click the Select and Type button Select and type button.
  2. Use the mouse pointer to draw a box around everything that you want to move.
    Selection rectangles appear around the selected objects.
  3. Place the mouse pointer on any of the selected objects, and then drag the group to its new position.
back to top

Change the color of content


You can change the color of most objects after you add them to the whiteboard.

  1. Click the Select and Type button Select and type button.
  2. Click the object you want to change. If you want to change several objects to the same color, use the mouse pointer to draw a box around all of them.
    A selection rectangle appears around the selected object or objects.
  3. Click the Color button Color button, and then click the color that you want.
back to top

Undo and redo your work


To undo or redo your work, do the following:

Note You cannot use this process on other people’s work.

back to top

Determine who added or changed content


To see who added or changed content on the whiteboard, do one of the following:

back to top

Point to content to show what you’re referring to


Use the Laser Pointer tool to show the other meeting participants what you’re referring to.

  1. Click the Laser Pointer button Laser Pointer button.
  2. Click the object you want to point to and hold down the mouse button.
    Everyone will see the blue circle indicator and your name.
back to top

Delete content


To delete content, do the following:

  1. Click the Select and Type button Select and type button.
  2. Select the object or objects that you want to delete.
  3. Press the Delete key.
back to top

Rename the whiteboard


It’s particularly useful to name whiteboards during a meeting if the group will be switching back and forth among several.

back to top

Save the whiteboard


Save the whiteboard to your computer to access your collaborative work after the meeting is over.

back to top

Temporarily close the whiteboard


To close a whiteboard that you’ll want to use again later, do the following:

You can reopen the whiteboard later in one of the following ways:

back to top

Privately view a closed whiteboard


You can refer to a closed whiteboard without sharing it with the other attendees.

  1. If the stage is hidden, click the Share menu, and then click Show Stage.
  2. At the top of the stage, click Content List, click the arrow next to the whiteboard you want to view, and then click View Privately.
back to top

Permanently delete a whiteboard


To delete a whiteboard, do the following:

back to top
©